Freezing Weather, Dogs & Videocameras

Okay, so I realize it is indeed winter. But it’s really beginning to put a cramp on my riding. I was all prepped to do a fun ride with my Austin Cycle Camp peeps but it rained… a lot. So Saturday comes and my wife and her running buddy braved an 11 mile run first thing in the morning. After they return from the frozen tundra, I decided that I absolutely must get out and log some miles. S0 I suit up and head out. “IT’S FREAKIN COLD OUT” is all that is running through my mind. The temperature was in the upper 30’s with a nice wind whipping. I kept telling myself that the sun was coming out and it would eventually warm up. I was doing one of my normal routes that goes out from Round Rock, into the outskirts of Pflugerville, up through Hutto and back home. I was shooting for 30+ miles to call it a good day. I left mid-day and was kinda hungry so I stopped at the Cele Store for a quick BBQ sandwich and to warm up. This brings up an interesting point about being aware of your surroundings. I have ridden by this store I don’t know how many times but never really paid attention to it. Then my good friend Jim (who has had a lot to do with me getting into cycling) sent me this video of L.A. back in 1994 out riding in the country in Austin. Jim’s coming in town this April and thought it would be cool to visit the places in the video. After watching it and looking up some info, I realized that the Cele Store that he stopped at is on the route I ride a lot! And I had never been there! Anyway, it’s a very quaint little place, only open a couple of times a week, and serves some dang good BBQ on Saturdays. Back to the point, I’m going to try to pay more attention to the places that I ride by.

After a calorie reload, I put my gloves & hat back on and head out into the cold again. The unfortunate part for me now, is that I have to turn into the wind for my return. Major suck factor. Just sayin’. I’m cruising along in the country and this truck passes me, slows down then waits. I see a camera sticking out of the car window so I try to ride by without getting in their way. The truck then starts rolling along with me. The guy asks if Lance is in the area. I responded, “no he’s doing a mountain bike race down south this morning.” The guys then wanted to know if I had seen him or if he ever rides in the area (all the while they were videotaping me). After laughing about this with some friends later on, one told me I should have said, “yeah Lance is a few miles back there, I passed him up.” That would have been clever and funny, but I was too cold for that. I thought it was odd they were videotaping me, the only thing I can come up with was that with my LiveStrong helmet and my massive calves they had mistaken me for L.A. (cue uncontrollable laughing). I continuing on my way to suffer in the hands of the frozen wind when I roll up on some nice unfenced homesteads. On cue I hear the standard dog bark. However this time, I see the little fella running towards me. *Awesome* I was in the mood for a sprint interval anyway! I mash my gears, and he’s doing a pretty good job staying on my wheel. (I plan on going back to ask him for pointers on that later). I’m figuring I’ll drop him any second, then realize that I’m quickly approaching a corner. Just before I decide to pull out some crazy move I’ve seen on Le Tour, the dog backs off and I make peace with my brakes. The rest of the ride was fairly uneventful and pretty much consisted of me lamenting in the freezing headwind. I make it home, take a hot shower and call it good.

I was glad I got the ride in as it brought my total January miles to 321. It meets one of my goals, but I felt it could have and should have been more. But it IS only January, and it’s cold, and it’s been wet.

As a side note, yesterday’s cold made me decide to opt for a lunchtime run instead of riding. I did just over four miles and can now proclaim it is indeed easier to run in the cold than it is to ride in the cold. Don’t misinterpret. I didn’t say it’s easier to run than to ride. I made it four miles and wanted to pass out, I can do 60 on the bike before that happens. I leave that type of jesting/betting to fatty. Here’s to happy riding.

  1. Good post! A few things:

    (1) I’ve never seen the Cele store open. I kinda thought calling it a “store” was some sort of joke, and that the only thing you’d find in it would be zombies.

    (2) If the video turns up somewhere, let us know. I’m curious what was up.

    Keep it up,

    BlackChopper

    • Ritchey_Breakaway
    • February 10th, 2010

    CyberJunkie,

    Great post. I am looking forward to riding and getting some BBQ at Cele in April. Hopefully, some TX promoter will schedule a race that we can do/see while I’m there.

    Cheers,

    Jim

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

