Product Review: DZnuts Chamois Cream

This should be fun… in an awkward trying to keep it a family PG rating blog post kind of way. I had the pleasure, uh privilege of receiving some samples of DZnuts High Viscosity Chamois Cream from my buddy over at Classy Cycling. I had seen the product before and even read some good reviews so I was anxious yet nervous to try it. If you’re unfamiliar with chamois cream it’s a touchy subject… well let’s put it this way, it involves sensitive parts and you wouldn’t want to  just rush out and grab any random cream to put down there! I digress, I don’t use a lot of chamois cream in the winter so I had been waiting to try it out. The weather cleared up for the last couple of weekend rides I did and figured it was time to give it the old college try. It’s kinda hard to keep a straight face with this particular product. The product is designed by longtime cyclist Dave Zabriskie (DZ). Add to it the fact that the man has a dirty mustache. And the tag line is “Protect Your Junk.” And the packaging, well speaks for itself. I’ll leave you to the final snickering after a line from DZ himself, “Proper mainTAINTanance of the perineal area is essential during high level training and racing. Nothing can ruin stage race success faster than an infected saddle sore.”

All jokes aside now… I think. The product itself applies like any other chamois cream. You can figure that out for yourselves, much to the dismay of Mike I’m not going to post an instructional video or anything. But if you’re still not sure, the packaging contains a pretty humorous 3 step instructions on how to apply. Once the cream is on, it has a bit of a kick to it, but not in a bad way. I’m guessing that sensation is due to the use of Tea Tree Oil in the product. I do appreciate the use of plant-derived natural ingredients being used rather than a bunch of synthetic processed crap. I don’t use cream on every ride, usually just when it’s hot out and a long ride. So for what it’s worth the cream was good. I think it’s probably a bit pricey per ounce compared to some creams. So you might keep an eye out for specials from Classy Cycling rather than paying full retail fair. Especially if you use cream a lot. Oh yeah, for the female cyclist there’s now a DZnuts bliss cream, and for our lady friends a special tshirt. Enjoy and happy chafe-free cycling 🙂

    • G
    • March 20th, 2010

    Thank you for the review. For great deals for Your Goods, please come visit my store: Buy 3, Get CoolMax Socks Free!

    Classy Cycling

    • Classy cycling
    • March 20th, 2010

    I’ve been using Chamois cream for years when i go spinning, racing, and long rides. Because of it’s consistency and high quality, I prefer Dznuts for my Goods.

    Please visit my store for great deals on dznuts and dzbliss for women. Buy 3, Get CoolMax socks Free

    Website: Classy Cycling

    • Brigham (Big- Rig) Latimer
    • March 23rd, 2010

    I just ran the Moab, Utah half marathon. It was a tremendous run. I used the DZnuts Chamois Cream to control and eliminate chaffing….It worked like a dream. The great thing was it wasn’t oily or sticky. It was smooooth! I would highly recommend it as a means to protect and provide comfort on those long runs and bike rides.

    • Hmmm, I like the idea of using it for running too. That’s one less ‘product’ that I have to worry about.

    • Fast Kenny
    • March 24th, 2010

    I ride with DZNuts as well and I gotta say that it is the best chamois cream that I have ever used. Get some now and ride like a champ!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

